About

The Conant Crier is a news site written for and run by students. We aim to provide accurate, relevant, interesting, and diverse content to the Conant High School community. The Crier serves as a forum for public dialogue and encourages praise and criticism from our readers. We invite readers to write letters to the editor as well as comment on published content. Comments are moderated, and no abusive or otherwise inappropriate content will be published.

Letters to the editor can be sent to [email protected] Name and year must be included with the letter, or it will not be published. For the sake of clarity and/or space, the Crier reserves the right to edit or condense any submitted material. The Crier cannot guarantee publication upon submission.

Crier Staff 2020-2021

Diya Thomas : Editor in Chief

Diya Thomas

Editor in Chief

Diya Thomas is Editor-in-Chief and a senior at Conant. This is her third year on the Crier staff. At Conant, Diya is part of the Speech Team, Orchestra, CompSci Kids, and NHS. Outside of Conant, Diya spends time scrolling through TikTok, playing the piano, and rewatching The Office, That 70s Show, or John Mulaney Netflix Specials.

thomas1738@students.d211.org
Ella Saputra : Editor in Chief

Ella Saputra

Editor in Chief

Ella Saputra is a sophomore at Conant High School and the second Editor-in-Chief. This is her second year on the Crier. Outside of school, Ella enjoys playing violin in her youth orchestra, playing with her dog, and spending time with family and friends.

saputra1041@students.d211.org
Morgan James : Sports Editor

Morgan James

Sports Editor

Morgan is a writer and senior at Conant. This is her fourth year on the Crier. Outside of school she enjoys spending time with her friends and family, reading, and discovering new Netflix shows and podcasts.

james1748@students.d211.org
Dana Khatib : Sports Editor

Dana Khatib

Sports Editor

Dana Khatib is a senior at Conant. This is her second year on the Crier Staff and in Conant. She is also part of Debate Team, soccer and NHS. Outside of school, she enjoys biking, baking, and spending time with family and friends.

khatib1342@students.d211.org
Emily Ytsen : News Editor

Emily Ytsen

News Editor

Emily Ytsen is the News Editor and a Junior at Conant. This is her first year with the Crier. While attending Conant, Emily is apart of the Varsity Basketball and Volleyball teams, Cougar CLIMB, Tri-M, Band, and Pride. In her free time, Emily enjoys playing basketball with her AAU team, watching Netflix, and drinking lots of coffee.

ytsen6370@students.d211.org
Anika Brahmbhatt : News Editor

Anika Brahmbhatt

News Editor

Anika Brahmbhatt is a News Editor and sophomore at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. At Conant Anika is part of debate. Outside of Conant Anika dances, reads, volunteers, and watches Netflix.

brahmbhatt5809@students.d211.org
Kana Nagoya : Features Editor

Kana Nagoya

Features Editor

Kana Nagoya is a Features Editor and a junior at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Kana is part of Orchestra, Tri-M, Cultural Awareness Club, and NHS. Outside of Conant, Kana spends time playing the violin, watching movies, and listening to music.

nagoya2437@students.d211.org
Ananya Maddulapalli : Features Editor

Ananya Maddulapalli

Features Editor

Ananya Maddulapalli is Features Editor and a sophomore. At Conant, she is a part of service club and band/marching band. Outside of school, Ananya spends her time playing the clarinet and piano, reading and writing, and helping others whenever she can.

maddulapalli1209@students.d211.org
Ria Patel : Entertainment Editor

Ria Patel

Entertainment Editor

Ria Patel is an Entertainment Editor and a sophomore at Conant. This is her second year on the Conant Crier staff. She is also part of the Service Club at Conant. Outside of school, Ria likes to bake, read, bike, and watch Netflix.

patel2837@students.d211.org
Sallaria Ansong : Entertainment Editor

Sallaria Ansong

Entertainment Editor

Sallaria Ansong is an Entertainment Editor & Digital artist and a sophomore at Conant. This is her first year in the Crier Staff. At Conant, Sallaria is part of track and field but might explore some other clubs. Outside of Conant, Sallaria spends time doing art, listening to music, binging shows, and cooking sometimes.

ansong2421@students.d211.org
Johanna Selmeczy : Opinions Editor

Johanna Selmeczy

Opinions Editor

Johanna Selmeczy is an Opinions Editor and junior at Conant. This is her first year on the Conant Crier staff. Through the school, she participates in theatre, speech, art club, and SAGA. She enjoys performing and creating art, both in and outside of school, and wants to be an English professor in the future.

selmeczy1080@students.d211.org
Jamie Okulanis : Opinions Editor

Jamie Okulanis

Opinions Editor

Jamie Okulanis is a sophomore at Conant. This is her first year as a member of the Conant Crier and she is also a part of Orchestra. In her free time, she enjoys reading, playing the violin, and watching Spinning Out on Netflix.

okulanis5719@students.d211.org
Maria Ahmad : Lifestyle Editor

Maria Ahmad

Lifestyle Editor

Maria is a lifestyle editor for the Conant Crier and is a sophomore. This is her first year on the Crier staff. She plays soccer at Conant and does travel soccer at FC United select. Outside of school and soccer, Maria likes to bake, watch Netflix, and listen to music.

ahmad8029@students.d211.org
Neela Gilbert : Social Media Editor

Neela Gilbert

Social Media Editor

Neela Gilbert is a Social Media Editor and Writer, as well as a junior at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Neela is a part of RISE and Student Council. Outside of Conant, Neela plays SAA Softball, works part time, volunteers, bakes (a lot) and watches ER.

gilbert5981@students.d211.org
Abigail Denna : Social Media Editor

Abigail Denna

Social Media Editor

Abigail Denna is Social Media editor and graphic artist and a sophomore at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Abigail is a part of Girls Track and Field, and Color Guard. Outside of Conant, Abigail spends time working out, hanging out with friends, and watching Netflix and Disney+.

denna8296@students.d211.org
Vasu Janjrukia : Web and Multimedia Editor

Vasu Janjrukia

Web and Multimedia Editor

Vasu Janjrukia is the Web and Multimedia editor for the Crier and is a Junior at Conant. This is his second year on the Crier. While his schedule is usually filled to the brim with various clubs, Covid-19 has finally given him some free time. Whenever he’s doing homework or at “school”, you can probably find him watching YouTube videos.

Janjrukia1275@students.d211.org
Ian Chang : Web and Multimedia Editor

Ian Chang

Web and Multimedia Editor

Ian Chang is the Web/Multi-Media editor and a sophomore at Conant. This is his first year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Ian is a part of the Congressional Debate Team, gaming club, and Chinese Club. Outside of Conant, Ian games, or brushes up on the piano every now and then.

chang5045@students.d211.org
Connor Hasselbrink : Writer

Connor Hasselbrink

Writer

Connor Hasselbrink is a Writer and a junior at Conant. This is his third year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Connor is part of the Debate Team and thoroughly enjoys the cafeteria food. Outisde of Conant, Connor spends time watching the news and getting annoyed at modern politics. He also works his job at KFC.

hasselbrink4821@students.d211.org
Maria Pye : Writer

Maria Pye

Writer

Maria is a sophomore at Conant. This is her second year on the Crier staff. At Conant, Maria participates in orchestra and soccer. At home, Maria reads, draws, and plays with her dog.

pye1587@students.d211.org
Jessie Hairrell : Writer

Jessie Hairrell

Writer

Jessie Hairrell is a writer and a junior at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. She enjoys playing volleyball and plays at Conant and at a club outside of school. You can find her spending time with her friends and family in her free time.

hairrell5203@students.d211.org
Nivedha Krishnan : Writer

Nivedha Krishnan

Writer

Nivedha Krishnan (Nivi) is a writer and a junior at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Nivi is part of the Public Forum Debate Team, JV Girls Badminton, Scholastic Bowl, and RISE. Outside of school, Nivi spends her time singing Carnatic Music (South Indian Classical Music), writing short stories, and trying new drinks (usually in the area of teas and coffee). She also enjoys watching TV shows/Movies from around the world and listening to a wide variety of music.

krishnan1015@students.d211.org
Munya Noman : Writer

Munya Noman

Writer

M. H. Noman is a freshman at James B. Conant High School. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. Outside of Conant, Noman spends her time practicing singing, dancing, mastering Korean, listening to K-pop songs, watching Asian dramas, and reading books.

noman1605@students.d211.org
Arya Shah : Writer

Arya Shah

Writer

Arya Shah is a writer and sophomore at Conant. This is her firs year on the Crier staff. At Conant, Arya is a part of PF Debate, Band, CS3, and Service Club. Outside of Conant, Arya plays the saxophone, sings, and draws.

shah5609@gmail.com
Reema Patel : Writer

Reema Patel

Writer

Reema Patel is a writer and a sophomore at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. Outside of Conant, Reema spends time baking, watching Netflix, and listening to music.

patel8147@students.d211.org
Minnah Saif : Writer

Minnah Saif

Writer

Minnah Saif is a writer and sophomore at Conant. This is her first year working on the Crier. She likes to spend her time reading, shopping, or binge-watching Netflix.

saif1048@students.d211.org
Evan Foley : Writer

Evan Foley

Writer

Evan Foley is a sophomore at Conant and this is his second year with the Conant Crier. Outside of school he enjoys watching movies and TV shows.

foley1234@students.d211.org
Srish Vijay : Writer

Srish Vijay

Writer

Srish Vijay is a writer and a sophmore at Conant. This is his second year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Srish is a member of Ping Pong Club and the tennis team. Outside of Conant, Srish spends time playing tennis, watching Youtube, and reading books.

vijay1705@students.d211.org
Christiana Kirov : Writer

Christiana Kirov

Writer

Christiana Kirov is a writer and a freshman at Conant. This is her first year on the Crier Staff. At Conant, Christiana is part of Conant Theatre. Outside of school, She likes to read, play the piano, and sketch.

kirov3932@students.d211.org

 

Faculty Adviser: David Gwizdala [email protected]

Assistant Adviser: Katie Sall [email protected]